booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Paris

8 Comments

I am re-blogging this post for my daughter Natalie and son-in-law Steve who are basking in the beauty of Paris at the moment!

Old, yet still beautiful;

World-weary yet never tired.

You sing a siren song

To entice the unwary to your breast.

From the ends of the earth

They hear your seductive call

And come to drink deeply

Of the heady wine of your presence;

To eat at your table where

All their lusts will be fulfilled.

And when they leave

Unsatisfied

To you it matters not whether they stay or go.

A heartless mistress,

You blink your heavy-lidded

Eyes and turn away with

Careless lifted shoulder

As they depart with aching hearts

To dream forever of returning

One more time to

PARIS

Copyright Elaine Young 2012 http://wp.me/s2rKaK-paris

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

8 thoughts on “Paris

  1. I will be “returning one more time to Paris” this Fall – what a beautiful, wonderful city!

  2. I love Paris… I just plain love Europe :). This is a beautiful tribute to Paris

  3. Somehow I missed this post, Elaine. Poignant sentiments of Paris. So glad your daughter and son in law could enjoy it before the tragic events of recent days.

    • Thank you Lynne. In fact they left on the bus an hour before the attack. And the bus terminus was a mere 4.5 kms ( no idea what that is in miles 🙂 ) if they had left later there was a cordon around the whole district! So we really thank God for their safety. They were staying in an apartment facing the Eiffel tower and enjoyed all the Christmas and New year festivities in a sparkling city. They are in England now and she says watching all the events on TV they can scarcely believe that the place could change so radically in 24 hours. Happy 2015 to you. Many joyous travels!

Leave a Reply

