booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

My baby, my book

11 Comments

I’ve been encouraged by other bloggers who have published their writings as e-books and after much thought I’ve decided to go that route too. Over the years I have had conversations with people in formal publishing and almost to a man they say, ‘Don’t publish as an ebook, don’t go the ‘vanity publishing’ route,  keeping knocking on the door of regular publishing houses until someone might eventually take a chance on you’ as if being rejected over and over again is a badge of honour! At least if it ‘bombs’ as an e-book you know you just try again and a lot rests in your own hands.

Well I don’t want my child to land up on the desk of some editor with pms who’ll bin it just because she can! And think of the small return…I was told that writers should not expect to make MONEY out of their work, oh no! I recently read of a very successful author who has been added to the authors ‘millionaire’s club’ and in her interview she said wistfully that she wished it was money and not just a million books sold…what does that tell you?

I began a book eight years ago and it started with a one sentence idea. I only wrote a plot for the story months after I began writing. The story was cobbled together gradually, more like a patchwork quilt, and I wrote brilliant pieces that I finally had to discard. I’ve polished whole sequences and then chucked them out again and again. I’ve got over the boredom of constant editing  and fallen in love time and again. Now I think I can see the end. What a journey! And I can feel I’m going to miss the experience of thinking and reasoning, the research and the characters especially.

I guess it’s like motherhood. You have a baby and when it becomes independent, you have another just for the same rush! I’ll have to start sorting through my notes for that new idea very  soon…

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

11 thoughts on “My baby, my book

  1. I know an author who sold so many copies of her ebooks she now works solely as a writer. What a dream : ) I think we’re in this because we love it, but I’d like to make a living with my books one day, so money is quite important : )

    • Wow! That is really encouraging! You are right, we are in it because we love it, but I think that unless you have another source of income, it is reason to expect to be paid reasonably well for your writing. At least on the internet you can build volume even if you don’t charge a great deal! Thanks so much for looking in and for your comments.

  2. My apologies for a very late response. Am glad you are making this step toward e-book publishing. At least you will have control over it. I look forward to reading it!!

  3. I have enjoyed reading your blog. I have started my own blog after winning Nano this year for the first time. I just found out how much I am truly in love with writing. I want to always enjoy it this much though. In the past when I have tried to make money off something I enjoyed, for example sewing, I eventually started to hate it. However, I am reading books that are teaching me how to write better, I am also reading how to publish books. I look forward to reading more from you. God bless!

    • Well done for persevering with Nano and being a winner! I tried a couple of years ago and found I could write 2000 words in an hour and a half! I didn’t finish as family commitments prevented me going to the end, but it was lots of fun. I think the more you read about writing and the more you read the type of book you would like to write the easier it becomes. Good luck! Thanks for visiting and for your comments!

  4. I started my book years ago, but after putting it aside for many years, I will be publishing it soon – bon courage!

Leave a Reply

