booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Aroma therapy

4 Comments

Is there any more evocative perfume  than that of freshly cut grass or the dry earth receiving the first rain of the season? The whiff of coffee can take me back to a bar-brasserie in Paris. The smell of diesel fuel, awful yes, but in a crazy way I remember Heraklion on Crete! There was some heath robinson contraption belching out fumes under my hotel window. A good memory notwithstanding. The sweet milky smell of your baby’s neck. Mothballs, musty books, mom’s cooking, the smell of the sea before you can see it

the smell of the sea, and the old morris minor

the smell of the sea, and the old morris minor

DSC02724, the smell of the inside of the old Morris Minor. Newly polished furniture. Recently we were driving through the countryside  and a huge storm came up. As the rain thundered down on the land a wonderful herby smell filled the car as the khakibos weed was flattened by the downpour. These all are  gateways to wonderful memories.

What are the aromas that stir your favourite memories? I’d love to read about them!

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

4 thoughts on “Aroma therapy

  1. I love aromas from small bakeries and Cafes… The smell of Christmas

  2. We were just saying the other day, how a smell can evoke such vivid memories sometimes going back to childhood. I find, for the most part, they are always happy memories.

    • That is so true. ‘They’ say the sense of smell cannot be corrupted, as taste can, and eyes for that matter. Funny, I just remembered how my beloved grandmother had a bush of rue in her garden. Quite a pungent unpleasant smell really,( I think she used to drink an infusion of the leaves for her high blood pressure ) but when I smell rue it reminds me of a very precious person who influenced my life in a wonderful way when I was a small child! Thank you for looking in! Have a great 2013.

Leave a Reply

