booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh

2 Comments

Click on photos to see enlargement

Rialto Market Venice

Rialto Market Venice

When I think of the word ‘FRESH’ I can’t help thinking of food! And in my travels I have been so taken with people’s passion for fresh food. In South Africa, we have large refrigerators and deep-freezers and we shop once a week in a supermarket. Boring! In smaller towns there is always a Saturday Farmer’s market, and things are changing in the cities as folk become more aware of the health benefits of organic food.
Travelling in Europe and England is an eye-opener and I love to visit the street markets in Paris. We were delighted with the wonderful markets in La Rochelle.In Venice they have the marvelous Rialto Market, which is largely supplied from a ‘market garden’ island called St. Erasmus an island about the size of the main island of Venice Europeans still buy their food daily at the wonderful street markets available to them, and are passionate about ‘FRESH’.
Display fresh food, Monoprix Paris

Display fresh food, Monoprix Paris

Boulangerie La Rochelle

Boulangerie La Rochelle

Fresh Market La Rochelle France

Fresh Market La Rochelle France

Street market La Rochelle

Street market La Rochelle

Fresh Market La Rochelle

Fresh Market La Rochelle

Fresh Market, La Rochelle

Fresh Market, La Rochelle

beautifully arranged fruit and vegetables La Rochelle

beautifully arranged fruit and vegetables La Rochelle

Fresh Market LaRochelle, France

Fresh Market LaRochelle, France

A sparrow checking the freshness of the lettuce at a street market in Venice

A sparrow checking the freshness of the lettuce at a street market in Venice

[caption id=”attachment_609″

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh

  1. There is nothing like a street market. So many choices and fresh it is.

Leave a Reply

