booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Every Hidden Thing – publishing a book for the first time

Leave a comment

I have a few thoughts about the experiences I have had publishing for the first time. It was very scary to rid myself of the idea, that publishing a novel without the aid of the formal publishing sector would be hazardous and foolish. I am going to share a few thoughts in the next few days that I would like to record and hopefully encourage someone who is in the same position as I am:
First of all take your courage in both hands and JUST DO IT.
While I was hesitating, I spotted an article in a woman’s magazine (Woman and Home SA Edition Sept. 2012) that asked the question: ‘Do you want to be an e-Book Bestseller?’ in the article it gave very clear advice about publishing with Smashwords and Kindle. While I had heard of Kindle I had never heard of Smashwords.com. So I Googled it and discovered a whole new world. Even there I took a long time before I committed myself. But I am not sorry I did it! I listed my book last Friday. Now it’s a matter of wait-and-see!

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

Leave a Reply

