booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

3 Comments

Nile Journey

Six years ago my husband and I went on a Nile cruise to celebrate our wedding anniversary. These pictures were taken then and reflect the peace and serenity of the time. Unforgettable. And now I imagine this is almost a lost world when one considers the turmoil that had devastated Egypt in the last few years. Please click on each picture to enlarge.

DSC04721

DSC04733

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

  1. Lovely silhouettes, Elaine, of peaceful times in the region.

    • Thank you Lynne. When I was looking through my photos for these I was struck with how safe Egypt was at the time we visited.We were wafted down the Nile in almost Byzantine luxury! Obviously as a tourist one doesn’t know the full picture, but we asked one of the guides along the way about whether the presidential polls were free and fair because we had heard that there was no secret ballot and everyone was forced to vote for Mubarak. She was horrified at the suggestion that she should vote against the status quo. It seemed inevitable that there should be a violent turn around. However, I think many Egyptians would love to have Mubarak back, for although he was a dictator, there was peace in the country.Christians were not threatened, people had work. We met an old school teacher who was from the people group that was displaced to build the Aswan dam and he told us how Muslims and Christians and other communities rubbed along together. I imagine that now, tourists would be more reluctant to go there and of course they depend heavily on tourism to fill the coffers, as there is not much else there. So sad.

Leave a Reply

