booksdefineme

the journey of a budding author

Weekly Photo Challenge: Scale

6 Comments

http://en.support.wordpress.com/comments/pingbacks/
My search for the Nile Meter in my photo records for last week’s challenge, highlighted our 2008 trip to Egypt and so the project for this week, SCALE, was just a small leap for me. The grand scale of Egyptian monuments is overwhelming when you see them in person. Photos don’t give a hint of their splendour. And one has to remember that when they were first built aeons ago they far surpassed the majesty that so impresses us in these days. Much of what we see nowadays has been restored from piles of rubble. Many of the extraordinary buildings had to be dug from the sand, or reconstructed as far as they could. Much of the stone had disappeared, used in commonplace structures of the centuries, but archaeologists have done a marvelous work in recreating to some degree the wonders of ancient Egypt. These photographs are of the Great Hypostyle Hall at Karnak Luxor o1-Egypt 1 cairo to Aswan Elaine 0941-Egypt 1 cairo to Aswan Elaine 095
please click on photos to enlarge

Author: booksdefineme

I have always been surrounded by books. My parents had books, books and more books. I haunted the library as a child and when I grew up I worked in books shops. When I had children and they went to school I ran the school library. And my husband keeps on telling me there are too many books in the house. They somehow seem to pile up on every available surface almost of their own volition. I fight back and donate mounds of them to the local library but somehow it is a losing battle. I just find more taking their place! For the last eight years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. I am about to publish this magnum opus in a few weeks time. I feel as I did when I gave birth to my children; nervous but excited!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Scale

  1. Quite a challenge to capture images of such depth and scale so successfully. Great photos.

  2. Quite a challenge capturing images of such depth and scale so successfully. Great photos.

  3. Well captured, Elaine. Thanks to massive preservation, we get a glimpse of Egypt’s past.

    • Thanks Lynne. I’ve seen old photos of some of the sites and they were very tumbled down. At one place the actual buildings were well preserved because they were totally buried. There was one which has fire damage on the ceiling and we were told it was because shepherds found their way into the space under the roof (the sand cover was so deep around the building) as though it was a cave and built their fires and sheltered there. I have a photo of it, not sure how I can show it to you! Egypt is an astonishing place.

  4. Did you take a cruise down the Nile? I did that but all my photos are in 35mm slides!

    • Yes we did. My husband took us for a Nile cruise from Aswan to Luxor and then a few days in Cairo, seven years ago! Can’t believe it was so long ago, seems like yesterday. What an amazing experience. I have always been fascinated by Egypt and Egyptology. If only there wasn’t such a dangerous mess in the Middle East, I’d love to go again and do it slowly.
      Slides are great except they limit one. My husband made a device whereby he could photograph slides through a slide viewer. In South Africa, one can get slides converted to photographs at photo print kiosks.
      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

